Historical novels (5 pages found in this category)

Guy Fawkes (novel)

First of Ainsworth’s seven Lancashire novels, first published in serialised form in 1840 and then as a three-volume set in 1841, based in the Gunpowder Plot of 1605.


Historical fiction adventure novel by the Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson, written as a boys’ novel and first published in the magazine Young Folks from May to July 1886.

The Flashman Papers

Series of novels and short stories by George MacDonald Fraser, about a cowardly British soldier who had been the school bully in the 1857 novel Tom Brown’s Schooldays.

The Lancashire Witches

Novel by William Harrison Ainsworth, first published in 1848. Based on the true story of the Pendle witches, it is the only one of his forty novels that has never been out of print.

The Tower of London (novel)

Novel by the English author William Harrison Ainsworth, first published in 1840, centred on the events following the death of King Edward VI and the subsequent nine-day reign of Lady Jane Grey as Queen of England.